Views
Helpful
Replies

Network Setup for small business

huyan
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone, 

My customer wants me to build a server and network for an company (60 employees) and in the future this office will be connected to 2 other offices (10 employees/each). 

In the past, for other companies with similar size (~60 employees), I would use 1 Sonicwall TZ400, 2 Cisco SG500 Switches, 2 Meraki AP. The network is flat, all is on VLAN1. 

However, since I just got a CCNP R&S, I would like to apply what I studied in reality. Could you suggest a network setup for this scenario? I read some articles online. They suggest to use Meraki for small business but I am not really interested in Meraki because I will have to pay for licenses and what is more important is  I can't can't apply what I learned in CCNP.

Also, where should I buy Cisco devices and licenses? I checked Amazon (USA) but very few are sold there. Once,  I tried to contact a Cisco sale to ask about Email Security service but when I told them about the size of the company, I didn't receive any further replies. I have a feeling that Cisco is not interested in small business? Maybe I am wrong since we have this section for small business :)

Please help me to answer 2 questions above: 

- what is a suggested network setup for small business (60 employees)?

- where should I Cisco devices and licenses from?

Any help is appreciated. 

Best, 

Huyan.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Seb Rupik
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi there,
Give the size of the office, it is classed as 'small branch' by cisco design standards. As such the topology should just include a router and enough switches to provide the required port density to connect all your edge devices. As for APs, stick with autonomous models that don't require a controller.