Views
Helpful
Replies

Branch Office VPN with Cisco Routers

dball79
Level 1
Level 1

Hello!

I have a question about VPN networking with Cisco routers. I must say that I am a beginner in this field and am learning about networks. I might want to obtain a CCNA certification.

My question is this: Cisco routers have long been used for networking with a company's VPN network.

However, most of them cannot be operated as VPN clients. They can either be used as VPN servers, allowing a VPN connection from a single computer to the company network, or they support site-to-site VPN, which connects two LAN networks over a distance. At this point, the real-life scenario is somewhat unclear to me, which I would like to illustrate with an example.

Let's say we have a franchise company with many branches. For the example, I'll use a car rental company, as it's a good way to illustrate the point: a large network in the company headquarters and over a hundred small branches nationwide, each with about 3-4 computers plus printers, etc.

In this scenario, it would be logical to use the router as a VPN client. The branch would then receive a single IP address in the private LAN of the company headquarters, and the branch's LAN would remain separate and not directly reachable from the company headquarters. This way, each branch's LAN could maintain a standard IP range (e.g., 192.168.1.1 - 192.168.1.255), and the branches wouldn't need to coordinate with each other.

However, Cisco routers (and devices from other manufacturers as well) do not support this operation as a VPN client.

But since many Cisco routers are used in such branches (I've seen it myself), it must be done differently, and I wonder how exactly (in most cases)?

A site-to-site VPN in the scenario described above would most certainly be an administrative challenge.