Views
Helpful
Replies

Question regarding VLAN isolation/tagging on RV325

lucidr3v3ri3
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

We have recently installed a Small Business Series RV325 to interface properly with a new VoIP phone system, and we have an additional issue to resolve regarding PCI compliance. We have one credit card terminal in the building, and it's come to our attention in recent months that to adhere to compliance standards, said terminal needs to be isolated from the rest of the network. I'd rather not pay for a second WAN connection, so I'm curious what the best way would be to set this up.

I have some VLAN configuration experience, but nothing with this line of Cisco routers. Since there is only one private LAN in the building otherwise, it seems like setting up one VLAN for that one specific device/port and tagging it while leaving the default VLAN (1, which is not currently enabled) not operating on a VLAN would be ideal, but I'll leave this one to the experts.

Thank you in advance.

Ben

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Michael Swenson
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello,

Yes, isolating the PCI terminal is recommended on the LAN. 

To configure the Vlan:

- Port Managenet - Vlan Membership - Enable Vlan -  ADD

- VLan ID 4, Name, Disabled, Disabled,  Select one port to Untagged.  This is the port that you will connect the PCI terminal

- Save

This will isolate on the inside of you network.

PCI is ,also, concerned about the remote access to you network through the WAN port.  By default,the RV325 blocks all inbound connections / ports.  IF you have port forwards, one to one NAT or VPN configured, however, this could cause the PCI test to fail.  If you are using these function, you may have to disable for the PCI compliance.

Best Regards,

Mike

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Michael Swenson
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello,

Yes, isolating the PCI terminal is recommended on the LAN. 

To configure the Vlan: