Views
Helpful
Replies

RV215W don´t block sites

Osvaldo Galicia
Level 1
Level 1

Helllo

i have a RV215W and i have already set a internet access policy to block keywords and sites like facebook, etc but, i can still visit those pages and search for the keywords without being blocked.

5 Replies 5

kevyen
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Osvaldo Galicia,

Thank you for using the Cisco Small Business forums! My name is Kevin, I am an eContent developer and I am part of the Small Business Support Community. The reason why you are not able to block certain websites like Facebook is because the URL filtering mechanism is limited to keyword and looks at http only. The next option that you can do is to block the sites' IP address but Facebook uses multitude of IP addresses so to block websites like Facebook, you would need to control the DNS request phase of the browsing rather than trying to stop specific traffic at layer 3.

One way you can do this is:

1. You can create an account at https://www.opendns.com.

2. After that, you would want to set up your filtering.

3. Set the DHCP to hand out the DNS server address from Open DNS

4. Create ACLs to allow port 53 to the Open DNS servers

5. Create ACL to block port 53 to ANY

These ACLs prevent the user from using a manually-entered DNS to circumvent the filtering.

I hope this helps! I hope you reply back with any questions or concerns.

*Please mark the question as Answered or rate it so other users can benefit from it*

Sincerely,

Kevin Yen

Cisco eContent Developer

Dear Kevin,

can you please let me know how to do it on the RV215W?

Thanks

Sandor

Hello Sandor, 

I have typed out a couple steps that may help you configure your RV215W with Open DNS. You can follow these steps and see if it works for you. These steps are assuming that you have an account with Open DNS and you have configured your settings on the Open DNS website.