Views
Helpful
Replies

SOLVED: RV340 - Router drops replies despite routing seemingly working

JGustavsson_TP
Level 1
Level 1

Hi!

First of all I must admit that I am a complete beginner when it comes to Cisco routers, but I am experiencing a situation that is not making much sense to me, and I would be grateful for any assistance in trying to solve the matter.

Currently we have an RV340 router (we can call this Router 1), which is connected to a public IP on WAN1, a server that we would like to make available externally on LAN4 and a connection to a Dell PowerConnect 6248P switch on LAN1. The Dell switch further connects to another RV340 router (we can call this Router 2), as well as all of the internal workstations of the company (the intranet).

The server is a virtual machine hypervisor, and as such has several IP addresses associated with its bridge network interface. The goal is to make the server accessible through the public WAN of Router 1, and allow traffic on certain ports between the server and the intranet so that server administrators can access the server. Router 1 and the server will as such act as a DMZ, with limited access via the switch to the intranet. All intranet traffic will be routed to the internet via Router 2.

We have created a VLAN for the server(s) to reside on, VLAN666. There are also several VLANs where the intranet workstations reside (for now we only need VLAN120 to be able to access the server on VLAN666). In addition to this we have a default VLAN1.

To me the seemingly easiest way to provide the isolation we are looking for would be to allow inter-VLAN communication between VLAN666 and VLAN120, and then use the firewall in Router 1 to disallow ports we do not want communicating with the intranet.