Views
Helpful
Replies

SRP541W multi vlan set-up

Florian1974
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everybody.

I am using an SRP541W router and i am trying to configure 2 vlans, each one to use its own Wan:

Here are the dhcprules and vlans:

dhcp1.JPG

dhcp2.JPG

As can be seen, each one has its own wan interface.

Vlans:

vlans.JPG

As can be seen, each vlan is using its own ports and dhcp rule, so, now they should be separate.

Both Wans are connected:

interface info.JPG

So now (at least as i see things) the two vlans are separate and using different Wan. But the reality is different, everything is going out using Wan1.

Also in the Interface Info you can see that the 2 vlans are listed under the Wan1.

The rest of router setting are default.

This is my first attempt to set up a Cisco, so please bare with me.

Thank you in advance.

Florin

* after some thinking, i think i also need to modify something in the Routing area...right? I guest all the treffic is going through Wan1 is because the default routing table?

17 Replies 17

Andrew Hickman
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Florin,

WAN Interface in the DHCP settings doesn't actually define the routing behaviour for that subnet (it defines where certain DHCP options are derived from).

To achive the routing you require, simply add a static routing rule to direct traffic from the VLAN IP Subnet to WAN2.

Regards,

Andy

Well, actually i did that, but no, it didnt worked...

Hi Florin,

My apologies, I mis-spoke earlier.  I should have said use policy based routing, not static routing in this case.  Should just be a case of setting inbound and outbound interface in a new rule.

Regards,

Andy

Andrew, thanks for help.

Would you be kind to give me an example? Do you have a router in hand to make the policy and show it to me?

Eternally grateful,

Florin

Hi Florin,

The following should do it....

Regards,

Andy

Yes, after your pre-last message, i played a little with Policy Routing and i did same setup.