cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

2811 Router no CF no software, help?

jrsq1231
Level 1
Level 1

I recently purchased a 2811 router for use in building out my home lab.  There was no CF card, and when I use the console it doesn't boot any software, only shows rommon> prompt.  Is there a way I can download software to a USB and boot it up from a USB?  I have searched around I keep seeing mention of a 15.1.4M12a IOS but I can't find it anywhere, and don't know how to put it on the router.  I bought this router and a Catalyst 3750 switch to learn about Cisco stuff so I am completely new to this.  Thank you!

7 Replies 7

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

@jrsq1231 wrote:

Is there a way I can download software to a USB and boot it up from a USB?

Post the boot-up process of the router.  
There is a particular version of the ROMMON which supports USB ports but this was not widely circulated to the general public.  

However, I think the odds are stacked against you.  You're better off looking for a CF (maximum size 16 Gb & formatted to FAT16) and hope the router will support it. 
NOTE:  Cisco routers are very sensitive to what brands/size of the USB and CF used.  If one brand does not work, try another.

Thank you for the response.  It would seem I have an even bigger hurdle than that now.... After looking around for the actual software that is supposed to be on the router, I found it on Cisco's site, but I have to buy a service contract just to download the software that is supposed to be on it??  That seems really crazy to me.  I'm not looking for support, or upgrading to bigger better... I'm just looking for the last software for it that was released before it become unsupported, yet I still have to pay for it...

@jrsq1231 wrote:
I found it on Cisco's site

Ok, so you found the file in the Cisco website, right? 
What is going to happen if you search for the exact filename in Google?

Martin L
VIP
VIP