cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Inbound traffic to go out via same BGP ASN as it came in on

eger
Level 1
Level 1

I'm wondering if someone could point me in the right direction at least or provide an area I should be looking to accomplish this. Basically i'm trying to get traffic that comes in on one BGP ASN to go out the same. I'm having a problem with traffic coming in on one provider. But going out another. I can verify this by doing a traceroute to an IP address on the network and then from that host on then network do the same traceroute back. Both take different paths.

This is noticed also in the ping times for the hops. Once the hop get up to my router going in, you notice the latency jump (indicating the route coming back is changing).

How can I prevent this from happening or take control of it using ACL's and route-maps?

I'm fairly new to cisco just finished my 3rd CCNA class. Hope this is enough info to understand what I am trying to do.

Thanks for your time!

4 Replies 4

Hello Andy,

basically, there are two parameters that you can configure to influence the outbound traffic flow: ´weight´ and ´local-preference´. Without knowing the specifics of your setup, you might want to try and apply the command:

neighbor x.x.x.x weight 200

to the neighbor of the AS which you want the traffic to exit through, and:

neighbor x.x.x.x weight 100

to the neighbor which you do not want the traffic to exit to.

A higher weight is preferred, but this attribute (weight) is only local to your router and only works when both ISP´s are connected to the same router. If that is not your physical setup, you might want to include a drawing of your setup, and we will have to think of something else...)

Regards,

GP

I see that would definitely help it out one interface or the other. Though I don't necessarily want traffic favoring one provider. BGP seems to be doing a real good job of keeping both lines equal according to route preference.