cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Need help with QoS configuration

elizabethf
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, my teacher gave me the task to create a MPLS VPN network. I have successfully done everything he asked for, except for the QoS configuration. Since I'm a beginner I'm not familiar with QoS whatsoever. I have been trying to figure out how to do it for the past couple of days but I can't seem to figure it out so I'd be very glad if someone here could help me out. I'm supposed to configure QoS on both PE and CE routers. The QoS needs to have 3 classes - Real Time, Default and Data. I need to make it so that the CE router switches the DSCP values to EXP values for the PE router, and the other way around for PE - it needs to switch from EXP values to DSCP for the CE router. The topology is as shown below. Any instructions will be appreciated. Thanks in advance! Image 1.03.23 at 13.20.jpeg

4 Replies 4

follow...

What? 

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

"Since I'm a beginner I'm not familiar with QoS whatsoever."

Your a beginner working a task with MPLS VPN, CE, PE, P routers, RR routers?  While working with the forgoing, you've not familiar with QoS, at all?

What kind of course is this?  What level, college, industry, other?

With regard to your questions, although I have some experience with QoS, it doesn't extend to using QoS with MPLS, although I have a very light knowledge of it, such as I know the EXP bits are often used for QoS purposes.  I also recall (?) conversion from IP ToS to MPLS EXP is relatively simple, although you lose ToS granularity (6 bits to 3 bits).  I also recall, original ToS is preserved, so unless you need to change MPLS EXP within the MPLS cloud, and update ToS upon MPLS cloud egress, I believe you shouldn't need to concern yourself with converting EXP back to ToS (which cannot be done, fully, i.e. 3 bit to 6 bits).