cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Understanding IOS version differences between k9 and sec k9 for cisco 2901? Trying to integrate home network and lab network into one

wintermute520
Level 1
Level 1

My apologies if this is in the wrong community.  I'm studying for the 200-105 exam, passed the 100-105 last month.  I've got a small lab network setup with 3 x 2811s and 3 x 3560s.  I've gotten pretty good with them and enjoy playing around and making up networks.  It's a bit of a nuisance though because it's isolated from my home network so if I want to put some hosts on my lab network I have to unhook my pc and laptop from my home network and hook them up to the lab network.  My lab network's ethernet ports are all 10/100s.  My home network has an old sonicwall firewall that has a couple gigabit ports and some 10/100 ports and then I've got an unmanaged 8-port gigabit switch hooked into a gigabit port and a wifi router hooked into the gigabit switch.  The sonicwall is just kinda passive, it doesn't have any active security subscriptions so it's not doing a whole lot right now.  

A friend of mine is selling me a netgear ready nas 4-bay rack mount nas that has two gigabit ports and an 24-port HP gigabit rack mount switch to expand my home network.  I had the thought of either replacing the sonicwall with a refurbished 2901 or putting a 2901 behind the sonicwall to run my network.  I'm pretty sure I can configure the 2901 properly.