Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Using configuration files from RV130W on RV160W or RV260W

Hello,

This is my first time posting on here!

So, a number of years ago, I had configured RV130W small business VPN router for a client with a few stores. I recall that configuring RV130W for their use was quite a process as they have multiple VoIP providers with capricious older phones, plus their IPSec to their main Server was a pain in the neck to configure as well, as it would drop midway through replication.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I was successful in configuring all of this, and things have been good ever since. Now, they would like to upgrade all their stores to RV160W or RV260W to get access to dual Wi-Fi band and other goodies. Like the title says, I would like to get any of these upgraded routers, but I am wondering if anybody knows if I am able to upload my "just right" configurations files from their existing RV130W without issues?

Thank you!

4 Replies 4

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

I am not expert with these models, and if someone else in the community is expert with these I hope they will join the discussion. But given the possible differences in hardware and the very likely differences in version of code that they run, I think it wold be quite optimistic to think that you could upload the old config to the new hardware without issue.

If you have a good understanding of the old config I would think that it would not be difficult to create a new config on the new hardware. But a simple transfer of old config to new hardware is likely not going to be without issue.

HTH

Rick

Hello,