Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 


The sysstatus command is a system-defined alias for the Linux top command, which displays and updates information about the top CPU processes. It provides a real-time view of the processor activity. It lists the most CPU-intensive tasks on the system and can provide an interactive interface for manipulating processes. It can sort the tasks by CPU usage, memory usage, and runtime.

In order to view the current CPU activities, enter:

sysstatus -hvbcisqS -d delay -p pid -n iterations

If you execute the command and you do not select the batch mode option, you run in an interactive environment. In this environment, you can interact with the output:

  • Press H or ? in order to get the list of interactive commands.
  • Press the space key in order to refresh the data immediately.
  • Press Ctrl+L in order to erase and redraw the screen.
  • Press K in order to kill a specific process ID (pid).
  • Press Q in order to quit viewing the real-time data and return to the command prompt.
  • Press Ctrl+C in order to break the batch mode display.
  • Press I in order to toggle ignoring idle and zombie processes.
  • Press N or # in order to specify the number of processes to display on the screen. The value of zero (0) restores the default, which is the number of processes that fit on the screen.
  • Press S in order to toggles the cumulative mode, the equivalent of -S, that includes a defunct children of a process as part of the CPU times.
  • Press f or F in order to add fields or remove fields from the display.
  • Press o or O in order to change the order of the displayed fields.
  • Press L in order to toggle the display of load average and uptime information.
  • Press M in order to toggle the display of memory information.
  • Press T in order to toggle the display of processes and CPU states information.
  • Press C in order to toggle the display of command name or full command line.
  • Press N in order to sort the tasks numerically by the pid.
  • Press A in order to sort the tasks by age, with the newest first.
  • Press P in order to sort the tasks by CPU usage, which is the default.
  • Press M in order to sort the tasks by resident memory usage.
  • Press T in order to sort the tasks by time/cumulative time.

Syntax Description

none The default behavior of this command displays the current CPU activities.

-h Displays the usage guidelines of the detailed command.

-d This specifies the delay between screen updates. You can change this delay with the -s interactive command.

-p Monitors only those processes with the given process ID. This flag can be given up to twenty times. This option is not available interactively.

-q This causes sysstatus to refresh without any delay.

-S This specifies cumulative mode, where each process is listed with the CPU time it has spent. It also lists the CPU time of the dead children for each process.

-s This tells sysstatus to run in secure mode. This option disables the potentially dangerous interactive commands.

-i This starts sysstatus to ignore any idle or zombie processes.

-C This the display total of CPU states in addition to individual CPUs. This option only affects SMP systems.

-c This displays the command line instead of the command name only. The default behavior has changed as this seems to be more useful.

-n This is the number of iterations. Update the display this number of times and then exit.

-b Batch mode. This is useful for copying output from sysstatus to a file. In this mode, sysstatus does not accept command line input. It runs until it reaches the number of iterations specified by the n option or until killed. Output is plain text suitable for display on a dumb terminal.

Getting Started

Find answers to your questions by entering keywords or phrases in the Search bar above. New here? Use these resources to familiarize yourself with the community:

Quick Links