Views
Helpful
Replies

How to use EoX API

brunatoledo
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, 

I'm new at this subject and I want to make a request for the EoX API, reference - https://developer.cisco.com/docs/support-apis/#!eox/get-eox-by-dates

This link shows what do I need to put at the url request, but it doesn't say anything about the headers, the main request url for JSON is - GET https://api.cisco.com/supporttools/eox/rest/5/EOXByDates/1/2011-01-01/2015-12-31?responseencoding=json

When I send it, the status shows 403 Forbidden, I thing it's because something is necessary at the headers but I don't know what. 

Can anyone help me with this please?

Thank you,

Bruna T.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Bruna,

The secret isn't what is used for authorization header. A token, generated using your client id and that secret goes there. The Token Developer Guide linked for the API Console's Platform Documentation page does a good outlining the steps. 

Essentially you use the client id/secret you got when creating the app to generate an access token by calling cloudsso.cisco.com. You take the access token from that request and place it on an Authorization header as Bearer {{token}} when you call to the API.

That token will be valid for an hour, when you'll need to create a new token. 

Hope that helps.

Keith

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

kcolberg
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Any request to an API through the api.cisco.com proxy requires an access token. To get a token, you'll need to create an application in the API Console that includes the API(s) you want to use. Details on using the Console and getting an access token are at https://apiconsole.cisco.com/documentation (I think the Token Developer Guide (pdf) linked from that page does a good job of outlining the various OAuth 2 grant type you can use).