cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Storage Networking question

Rick Pancratz
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to storage networking and have been tasked with updating the configurations of two Cisco MDS 9124s for FC connectivity to four new Cisco UCS blade servers.  Unfortunately, I have never worked on the MDS 9000 platforms and am unsure on how to modify the current configurations and not disrupt production.

I have been provided the pwwn #s for each of the new blade server hba's.  The new blade servers are referenced as fcalias EPGS-ESX-12 thru 15.

I have attached copies of the current configurations for both 9124s, along with separate attachements for the changes I perceive need to be made on each switch.

I am interested in obtaining information/procedure on how to effect these changes in a non-disruptive manner to the production environment.

Thank you in advance for all support provided.

Rick Pancratz

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Brian Morrissey
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Rick,

For each new server you would add in a new fcalias like you have:

fcalias name EPGS-ESX-12 vsan 401

member pwwn 20:00:00:25:b5:10:00:3f

fcalias name EPGS-ESX-13 vsan 401

member pwwn 20:00:00:25:b5:10:00:7f

For the zones themselves you should do 1 initiator to 1 target or 1 initiator to multiple targets like the example below (currently you have many initiators and many targets in the same zone):

zone name EPGS-ESX12-NETAPP vsan 401

member fcalias EPGS-ESX-12

member fcalias NetApp-3140-P1-A

member fcalias NetApp-3140-P4-B

member fcalias NetApp-2040-P1-A

zone name EPGS-ESX13-NETAPP vsan 401

member fcalias EPGS-ESX-13

zoneset name EPGS-UCS-PROD-A vsan 401

member EPGS-ESX

member EPGS-ESX12-NETAPP

member EPGS-ESX13-NETAPP

zoneset activate name EPGS-UCS-PROD-A vsan 401