cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Layer 2 Loop + portfast enabled with spanning-tree portfast edge bpduguard default

Steph1963
Level 1
Level 1

Hi to all,

1) Layer 2 loop

I am presently studying for my SWITCH exam and the book is talking about layer 2 loops withtout really giving some details about  it.

Just like to know if packets will start to loop on the following network when the Host A or Host B start to send packet with MAC destination address that are unknown to the switches MAC addres tables or when either Host A or B sends packet to the layer 2 broadcast address (ex. ARP packet). Can I assume that the layer 2 packet will not loop if their destination address is known by the layer 2 switches.

untitle.JPG

2) BPDU guard

I would like to know if the global command spanning-tree portfast edge bpduguard default enables portfast by default on all non-trunking interfaces (interface not configured as switchport mode trunk). In other words does the following command

Switch (config)#  spanning-tree portfast edge bpduguard default

is equivalant to

Switch (config)# spanning-tree portfast default

Switch (config)# spanning-tree portfast edge bpduguard default

Thanks for your help

Stephane

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Stephane,

To your question 1)

I am somewhat confused by the picture you have included - you are talking about switches, yet the topology as depicted in your exhibit contains routers.

If the topology consisted of routers then by definition, routers would neither forward nor flood link-layer broadcasts so no loops would occur.