Views
Helpful
Replies

get_config error

kegrozis
Level 4
Level 4

Hi,

I'm a newbie to YDK.  I'm trying to pull the configurations from XRv instances using ydk.services.NetconfService.get_config.  However, I'm not correctly entering my attributes.  Provider is self explanatory, but I keep getting errors on 'source' and 'get_filter'.  Can you provide additional details on this method or an example?

get_config(provider, source, get_filter, with_defaults_option=None)

Execute a get-config operation to retrieve all or part of a specified configuration.

Parameters:
  • get_filter – Subtree or XPath filter to use
  • source – Particular configuration to retrieve
  • with_defaults – The explicit defaults processing mode requested

Thanks,

-Kevin

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

saalvare
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Kevin,

You can find an example at:

nc-get-config-xr-ip-domain-cfg-99-ydk.py · GitHub

That app uses NETCONF service to get DNS config.  Currently, you have to retrieve the configuration one model at a time. We're already tracking the enhancement to allow users to read the entire config (no filter):

Proposal for YDK read/write API · Issue #255 · CiscoDevNet/ydk-gen · GitHub

We were also tracking improvements to the documentation of services.  Several enhancements have been committed and will be generally available in the next YDK-PY release:

Revise service documentation · Issue #239 · CiscoDevNet/ydk-gen · GitHub

If you're new to YDK, you may want to consider the CRUD service first.  You also have to retrieve the configuration one model at a time, but that service will abstract a lot of the NETCONF details for you.  You can find the CRUD equivalent to read DNS config at:

ydk-py-samples/nc-read-xr-ip-domain-cfg-10-ydk.py at master · CiscoDevNet/ydk-py-samples · GitHub