Views
Helpful
Replies

How to model interfaces with CTM?

Deniz AYDIN
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new to NEXT, and try to model IGP for BGP-LS application. My initial model is;

{:router}-[:CONTAINS]->(:interface)-[:CONNECTED]->(:interface)<-[:CONTAINS]<-{:router}

as seen i defined the link as unidirectional, and different node types for router and interface.

I wander how its defined in Next-UI topology model, especially for the interface is there any documentation how to model router with interfaces? do they defined as node or labels on links, like source/destination interface?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Deniz,

Christmas and New Year holidays are so long! I hope you've had a nice time

The CTM model implies each network component to be described as a JavaScript object. In your case you may want to specify the list of available interfaces for each node inside the node object, since there's no strict way to do so in NeXt.

{

id: 0,

name: "Router1",

type: "router",

interfaces: [

"int1", "int2", "int3"

]

}

Thus, the link object should contain specific information about the connected interfaces

{

source: 0,

target: 1,

sourceInterface: "int2",

targetInterface: "int100"

}   

Like I said, "interfaces" is not something that is built in NeXt. However, you can add your own attributes into the topology data object (like I did above) and go on to process the information as you need.

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

alzverev
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Deniz,

Thanks for reaching out. I will prepare a detailed reply for you tomorrow.

I would also recommend you to get to know our tutorial: Understand Common Topology Model

Hi Aleksei,

Thanks for your reply. I am waiting for your answer. I also begin the tutorial section and try to use next ui over our model.

Hi Deniz,

Christmas and New Year holidays are so long! I hope you've had a nice time