Views
Helpful
Replies

Integrate UCSD with AD using Custom LDAP Search Base

Jon Glennie
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All-

I am new to UCSD and am currently going through some intial configuration of it in our environment.  One thing that I would liek to do is tie in UCSD with our AD servers to pull in user/group data and authenticate users.  I went in to the Administration --> Users and Groups --> LDAP Integration tab and created a connection to our AD servers, however I can't seem to find where to specify the correct Search Base DN.  If I click to modify the LDAP Search Base, I am presented with a window that has no entries to select and there are no buttons/manual entry options. 

Where can I find the place to specify my LDAP search Base? 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

michzimm
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Jon,

What version of UCSD are you using? You can tell by clicking on the "About" label in the upper right hand corner of UCSD in your browser.

In the later versions of UCSD (I believe 5.0 and higher), you can define the Search Base as part of adding an AD/LDAP account to UCSD. So you provide the AD/LDAP server information/credentials, etc. and then hit Next and it should present you with the option to choose a "Search Base" before hitting Submit to add the AD/LDAP account.

If your AD/LDAP account appears to have been added successfully in UCSD, try highlighting the account in UCSD and using the "Test Connection" button. Some other guidelines to follow...

-Make sure to use FQDNs for the domain and AD/LDAP servers

-Make sure UCSD can resolve the above FQDNs through DNS

-Make sure the appropriate TCP/UDP ports are open between UCSD and AD/LDAP (389 LDAP or 636 for SSL LDAP)

-Make sure there is at least one OU created in AD, UCSD presents the available OUs as options for "Search Base".