cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with VPN

jmike.miller
Level 1
Level 1

I am fairly new to VPN's so I'm having a bit of difficulty configuring a VPN.  I have a router outside of an ASA.  The router is doing the NATting as well as the VPN server.  I'm able to connect to the VPN, but cannot talk to subnets inside of the local LAN once I'm connected.  I think I'm missing something on the firewall itself.  Is there any examples of this type of configuration out here on the net?  I can't find anything.  Can somebody please help me out?

Any firewall statements that would allow this traffic in would be very helpful.  Thanks guys!

Mike

11 Replies 11

Hi Mike,

You have a router terminating the VPN and behind an ASA correct?

If so.... the ASA should allow all ports/IPs that you need to access.

The router itself should include the local LAN as part of the VPN traffic, have NAT-T enabled and not be blocking any traffic.

Also the router should be exempting from NAT the local LAN subnet.

The ASA should allow the ports needed because as far as the ASA is aware, there's no VPN.

Federico.

Thanks for the reply.  I get what you are saying, but would you have an example of the config statements?  I thought NAT-T was enabled by default on newer IOS's.  I have a 2921 router connected to an ASA 5510.

Router --------- ASA ---------- LAN

Outside router interface 66.110.x.x

Inside router interface 192.168.100.1

Outside ASA interface 192.168.100.2

Inside ASA interface 10.255.0.1

Layer 3 Switch

Layer three connectivity to ASA 10.255.0.2

Multiple VLANS.

Hi Mike,

First things first, we need routes on the ASA and the router to send VPN traffic across without any blocks.

Consider the following scenario,

X---ASA -- Y -- Router 1 --- VPN Tunnel -- Router/ASA --- Z

X is the network/subnet behind the ASA.

Y is network connecting the ASA and the Router

Z is the remote network at the end of the tunnel.