Views
Helpful
Replies

S2S VPN / NAT

mattipler
Level 1
Level 1

Good afternoon guys,

I'm relatively new to working with VPN and I've a question regarding S2S VPN and NAT. 

I've two ASAs (9.8) and a S2S VPN connecting them both. Behind each ASA (upon the inside) I have networks that I want to SNAT when communicating with the other inside network across the S2S VPN.

VPN and AnyConnect

Looks a little like this... 

192.168.1.0/24 (SNAT > 10.10.10.0/24) <-> ASA 1 <-> S2SVPN <-> ASA 2 <-> 192.168.5.0/24 (SNAT 10.10.20.0/24)

I've stood up my S2S VPN and I've got SNAT functioning in one direction, from 192.168.1.0/24192.168.5.0/24. When I ping from 192.168.1.0/24 to 192.168.5.0/24 I receive a response and I can see through wireshark that the translation is functioning and translating to 10.10.10.0/24! Great! 

I also want to configure the reverse (have 192.168.5.0/24 communications to 192.168.1.0/24 also SNAT) but each attempt I've made to configure this seems to break the configuration I have in place for the functioning SNAT. 

This is only a lab environment so I'm not fussed about posting my configuration and in terms of the ACL configuration it's pretty much open / not restricted.

The configuration I have in place at the moment is...

Upon ASA1

Translation

TRAN.jpg

ASA 1 S2S VPN 

S2S VPN.jpg

ASA 2 S2S VPN (no translation configured)

VPN2.jpg

As mentioned, the SNAT is working fine in the one direction. I'm just unsure as to how to approach the configuration to make it function in the other direction as well. I've spent a few hours having a shot of it but I've basically been guessing and nothing has worked. 

Any assistance appreciated.

3 Replies 3

Hi,

Please could you provide the full running configuration?

Can you provide the output of "show nat" and "show xlate"

thanks

Francesco Molino
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
Hi
What do you mean the return packet has to be translated.