Views
Helpful
Replies

traffic question

seaburn997755
Level 1
Level 1

Hey there,

When i come to vpn i am a bit of a noob i have not worked with them a lot before.

I just started working for a company from home and I am using the anyconnect vpn 3.1 client.

Now I find myself sometimes in the situation that I have left open some downloaders or other programs that are using the internet traffic.

Now my questions is are is my internet traffic going trought the vpn and can the company see what I am doing ? Or is its split so that just the traffic goes trought which is meant for the company?

The only thing that I could find is that in the ROUTE Details there are a lot of entry’s with internal ip like 10.x.x.x/x and 192.x.x.x/x

If you could tell me if my traffic goes trought there and if they can see it that would be great and if so is there a way to really split the traffic so that I don’t have to worry using downloaders or other programs that use traffic via the VPN corporate network.

Thank you for your time hoping to hear from you.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

I would imagine if they want to check they can see your DNS queries on their server.

And I imagine that you will need the corporate DNS server to be able to do your work so that cant be changed.

I guess you dont have a separate PC that is used only for work? Naturally the best situation would be if you have a separate work laptop/desktop and another for personal use. I guess that also depends on the nature of your work. Usually the employer provides the "tools" required for the work. Dont know if your situation is different.

- Jouni

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Jouni Forss
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

If ALL of the traffic from your computer was going through the VPN Client connection the ROUTE section would only show one route which is 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0.

This would mean that the VPN Client was using Full Tunnel and would tunnel all traffic through the corporate network.