cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN 3005 freezes

glefebvr
Level 1
Level 1

I am relatively new to VPN's, but I've recently been assigned to supporting the concentrator. We've got a 3005 concentrator running version 3.0.

The problem I've got is that once in a while, the device "freezes" and the only way to clear it is to physically shut down and restart it. When I view the event log; there are no entries between the time I've lost contact and when I've restarted the device. I hope that someone may have seen this and knows how to correct it.

4 Replies 4

k.poplitz
Level 3
Level 3

Sounds like a software bug. Try upgrading to 3.51. I couldn’t find any specific bugs pertaining to this but 3.5 is far more stable than 3.0.

Thanks! I will try that. However, if I upgrade to 3.51; is it necessary to upgrade the client as well?

You should do so, but it is not vital.

We use the client auto-update feature and a Winzip self-extracting install to update clients and have few problems.

The only way to fly!

I'm not sure if this is the same thing, but I am seeing a similar "behavior".

We are currently having this problem on Version 3.5.2, on a 3030. It happens about every 10days-2weeks. Not predictable and not re-producable at will.

We are working with TAC and Development folks on how to better get them additional info when it happens again.

I have been sent a debug version of 3.5.2, but I can't get any directions from TAC on what to do when it hangs again, except to call - during the hours of 8am and 4pm. Outside those hours, we have no recourse but to re-boot and hope it happens again during the hours listed. Obviously, a situation that is making me more un-happy. Local Cisco CE and Sales Rep are now in the loop.