Views
Helpful
Replies

Can a Domain have multiple AAEPs?

BertiniB
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,
I am studying for the DCACI 300-620 through the book and I came across with this:

BertiniB_0-1697080995911.png

Can't a Domain reference only a single AAEP? I can't add AAEPs to my single domain in my ACI 5.2(7g).

EDIT: I also came across with this:

BertiniB_0-1697081632343.png

Domains can be used in more than one EPG, for example I can use the same VMM Domain in two different EPGs.

11 Replies 11

RedNectar
VIP
VIP

Hi @BertiniB ,

You've never been able to add AAEPs to Domains EXCEPT at the time of creation! (You can't remove an AAEP from a Domain, or change the AAEP via the Domain configuration either)

But you've ALWAYS been allowed to add/remove Domains to/from AAEPs

So the many-to-many relationship is correct.

Example:

Lets say you have an interface or VPC connected to a router that is configured for multiple sub-interfaces or SVIs

Each VLAN represents the link to that router for a particular Tenant.

Each Tenant has been allocated their own VLAN pool and a L3 Domain.

For it to be possible for multiple L3 Domains (which in my example represent different Tenants) you need to be able associate all those L3 Domains with the same AAEP

Re the 2nd diagram.  It is wrong.  Your statement is correct. Send feedback to the authors of the diagram

I hope this helps.

Don't forget to mark answers as correct if it solves your problem. This helps others find the correct answer if they search for the same problem.

RedNectar aka Chris Welsh.
Forum Tips: 1. Paste images inline - don't attach. 2. Always mark helpful and correct answers, it helps others find what they need.

BertiniB
Level 1
Level 1

Thanks @RedNectar for the reply. What I understood from the diagram is that it is possible to associate multiple AAEPs to the same Domain, but it doesn`t seem possible

BertiniB_0-1697084321295.png

Here I am creating a L3 Domain, and I can only select a single AAEP, not many.