cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco CSS Load Balance Issues

bronocode
Level 1
Level 1

I'm still relatively new to Cisco CSS' so I may not be using the right terminology.  Anyways, I'm testing out a 2 Windows 2008 IIS7 web servers in a load balance configured on the CSS.  The site uses a login to authenticate and I've configured the Machine Key in IIS7 to match on each server. 

Unfortunately, this doesn't seem to be working and I'm having a hard time figuring out why.  I figured I would try using a sticky instead from the CSS side.  I want to use advanced-balance arrowpoint-cookie method over srcip as I feel like using a IP-sticky has it's faults (please correct me otherwise).  Anyways, the cookie is working and I stay connected through one server, however the site is extremely slow and it doesn't always authenticate properly.  The page will hang and it will eventually time out and bring you back to the main login page.  If I host file one server, it works fine. 

Now - there may be something on the application side and still exploring that avenue, but we had issues with VIP even when there was just one server in the mix. 

I believe we have the Cisco 11500 series

8 Replies 8

Jorge Bejarano
Level 4
Level 4

Hello DD,

Do you have it configured as L5 content rule?

Can you upload the owner, content rule, services and groups(If any)?

At this point, stickiness is working fine however you are seeing slowness and some timeouts, correct? If you are having some timeout, maybe you may need to configure a "flow timeout multiplier"

Is this a http or https site?

Additionally, it may be related with window scale, does your servers or client use it?

Please let us know

Jorge

Please include your current version as well

Jorge

bronocode
Level 1
Level 1

Here is what is currently setup:

content vip19-80

vip address XX.XX.XX.XX

balance leastconn

port 80

protocol tcp

add service XX.XX.XX.01-80

add service XX.XX.XX.02-80

advanced-balance arrowpoint-cookie

active