Views
Helpful
Replies

General query on CSM and CSS flow timeout values

danielng83
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

i have a SLB Application Processor Complex module on my Cisco 6504 which basically does some load balancing work. I am pretty new to this device but the configurations and setup looks somewhat similar to the Cisco ACE but i only have some experience with the Cisco CSS.

What i would like to know is what the equivalent command to the CSS "flow timeout" is on the CSM. Would that be the "idle timeout" command? I understand that the "pending timeout" is more to governing how long it takes to setup a 3 way handshake from client to server and the "idle timeout" is what i am looking for. Please correct me if i am wrong...

On the CSS, a flow timeout is on 16secs for most standard ports and 8 secs for HTTP. I would like to know what the default setting is for the CSM idle timeout?? Thanks alot!!

Daniel

4 Replies 4

sachinga.hcl
Level 4
Level 4

Hi Daniel,

For Idle Timeout the the default is 1 hour/ 3600 sec.

As you know for Cicso CSM thare are 2 timers per vserver.

Idle timeout

Pending timeout.

If a connection is timed out it's because of one of these timers.

Idle timeout per vserver - If there is no traffic neither from client nor server. Idle connection timer duration in seconds; the range is from 0 (connection remains open indefinitely) to 13500000. The default is 1 hour. If you do not specify a duration value, the default value is applied.

Examples

This example shows how to specify an idle timer duration of 4000:

Cat6k-2(config-slb-vserver)# idle 4000

Pending timeout per vserver - is the max time allowed to complete the 3-way handshake.The default is 30 sec.Range is from 1 to 65535. This is a SLB virtual server configuration submode command. The pending connection timeout sets the response time for terminating connections if a switch becomes flooded with traffic. If the 3-way handshake does not complete within this time, the connection is dropped.