Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Jabber using DNS, UDS for Global UCS Design with multiple CUCM

john-guy
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Cisco Community,

I'm in my research phase of trying to design a Cisco Jabber deployment across multiple CUCM clusters in the U.S and Global locations.

For instance, this is what I'm trying to solve for

Cisco Jabber Users associated with Asia-CUCM Cluster

Cisco Jabber Users associated with U.S-CUCM Cluster

Cisco Jabber Users associated with Europe-CUCM Cluster

I will start by stating I'm not a DNS Expert pertaining this topic however I understand the concept.

If all Jabber Users across all CUCM clusters are connected to the corporate DNS how is their request to connect to the Asia, U.S and Europe VCS negotiated?  If I'm a User in Asia working from home not on on VPN how will the Corporate DNS know to direct me to the Asia CUCM?  If I'm a remote User in the U.S.A not connected to VPN how will my Jabber request to register to the U.S CUCM be negotiated and connect to the U.S VCS-Edge?

Any help is appreciated

Thank you

John

2 Replies 2

nick.mueller
Level 6
Level 6

This probably isn't the right community for this question, but I'll answer it.

First off, Jabber won't register to VCS/Expressway if it is internal to the network or on DNS, it'll register right to CUCM.

So long as internal DNS resolves to one of the CUCM clusters, and the CUCM clusters are setup with ILS, then Jabber will use UDS to discover the end user's home cluster, and then download configurations (assuming they exist) for the CSF/TCT/BOT/TAB device and register itself.

When external, you can use GeoDNS (e.g. F5, other) to resolve to a regional VCS/Expressway.  All of your VCS/Expressway must be setup for MRA for all three clusters.  The client will once again discover the home CUCM cluster and register appropriately via MRA.

NPM

Hi Rick,