Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Comments
Vikram Hosakote
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

As a developer who worked on Cisco's operating systems (IOS, IOS-XE, IOS-XR, NXOS), routing protocols, kernel programming, virtual memory, device drivers and SDN, I needed a lot of time to understand how cloud computing can be done using Python. When I read that OpenStack is a cloud “operating system”, I was not able to comprehend why Wikipedia says that OpenStack is written in Python. On the right is a screenshot from Wikipedia. So, I initially thought OpenStack does not include Linux.

I have been working on OpenStack since 2013 (Grizzly release), and after more than two years, I realize that OpenStack does include “some” Linux (I will elaborate the size of “some” later in this blog!).

To understand the role of Linux in OpenStack, I will continue this blog with a few questions and pictures. The questions and pictures are around Python and Linux. The readers of this blog can find their own answers!

Which figure below is the right way to visualize OpenStack's building blocks ? Is Figure 1 that has a big Python block correct ? Or, is Figure 2 with a big Linux block correct ? Or, should both Python and Linux be equal-sized blocks ?

Building_blocks.jpg

Who is cute ? Penguin (Linux's logo) or Python ?

Who_is_cute.jpg

According to the theory of evolution, even though Penguins (birds) evolved from Pythons (reptiles), we all know that Linux did not evolve from Python. But, did Python evolve from Linux ?

Evolution.jpg

Who is your hero in the tech industry ? Linus Torvalds (creator of Linux) or Guido van Rossum (creator of Python) ?

Who.jpg

As I think about these questions, when someone says "OpenStack minus Python", below are the concepts in OpenStack that immediately come to my mind. All of these concepts can be understood / implemented in Linux and I've listed them for OpenStack's most popular and contributed projects - Neutron, Nova, Glance, Horizon, Keystone and Cinder.