cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

DataCenter buildout vpc without vxlan still have spine/leaf redundancy

romanroma
Level 1
Level 1

I am just learning about VPC and VXLAN, and I am very confused with the concepts. Could VPC be used with traditional STP without the need of VXLAN and BGP? I have a very small spin and leaf topology, and it seems that VXLAN with BGP is a overkill for my solution that VPC could be used with static routes in/out of my routing CORE.

What are some good resources for VXLAN and/or VPC deployment guides?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Sergiu.Daniluk
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

vPC (virtual port-channel) is a MC-LAG (multi-chassis link aggregation group) type of technology specific to Nexus switches. It's role is basically to make two Nexus switches appear as a single logical device to any device (switch, router, server etc) that supports link aggregation (static or LACP).
By far the best reference for vPC is this: https://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/docs/switches/datacenter/sw/design/vpc_design/vpc_best_practices_design_guide.pdf
Document was written for Nexus 7000, but all concepts applies to the full Nexus family.
If you prefer the video presentations, then I would suggest you to have a look at ciscolive BRKDCT-2378.
As you will see in the CL session, vPC is an independent technology but it can be used in combination with any of the following: STP, FEXs, Fabricpath (also known as VPC+), VXLAN.

For your specific scenario, you can use vpc without vxlan :-) 

Hope it helps,
Sergiu

View solution in original post

2 Replies 2

Sergiu.Daniluk
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

vPC (virtual port-channel) is a MC-LAG (multi-chassis link aggregation group) type of technology specific to Nexus switches. It's role is basically to make two Nexus switches appear as a single logical device to any device (switch, router, server etc) that supports link aggregation (static or LACP).