Views
Helpful
Replies

How to make test calls?

alex_lin0
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I am still very new to sandbox, so I am still trying to figure out how to work with this environment.

I know developers can use JTAPI SDK to control calls, but is there an existing tool that will allow me to control calls without writing code to use JTAPI?

Thank you

4 Replies 4

dstaudt
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

The JTAPI Test Tool is a GUI designed to allow you to 'drive' calls (from physical Cisco phones, or soft phones like IP Communicator or Jabber) - it uses JTAPI under the covers and the UI is designed to mirror/model the JTAPI object model:

https://developer.cisco.com/site/jtapi/downloads/index.gsp

If you are working with TAPI, there is an analogous (though quite old) tool from Microsoft called 'TAPI Browser' - available from the MS Platform SDK.  Note, the Cisco TAPI plugin targets TAPI v2.1

To just generate some calls, as mentioned the Cisco IP Communicator softphone (now EoL) or Cisco Jabber for Windows/Mac can be registered to the lab CUCM via VPN.

Other options:

- 3rd party SIP traffic generator tools (though requires som expertise to configure)

- Some Sandbox labs include bulk-call generation features

Okay, I will give the JTAPI Test Tool a try. I am guessing if start a call with JTAPI, the device I am using to make the call will generate silent packets. Is that a correct assumption?

Regarding Cisco Jabber, when I tried to download it from Cisco Systems, it says that I need a contract to download it. Is there a dev version for test purpose?

Thank you

Note, you will want to provision a 'CTI Port' (a software-instantiated virtual device) for use with the JTAPI test tool, and I believe you are correct, in that no RTP packets will be sent by the tool towards the destination.