cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Block other language email.

rockbd
Level 1
Level 1

I am new in using IronPort as email gateway and recently we get lot of mail written in other language then English. I make a content filters to block mail other language then English but i think it is not working.

Can anyone help me how to block or how to make work that content filter rule.

Thanks in advance.

Imtiaz

11 Replies 11

Libin Varghese
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Imtiaz,

For Async OS before 10 you would need to create dictionaries with a list of characters to block.

Dictionaries are added under Mail Policies -> Dictionaries

This dictionary can then be used in content filters to match the body of an email.

However, I would recommend upgrading the appliance to Async OS 10 to make use of language detection using content/message filters.

Please review the What's New section in the below release notes

Content Filter Condition and Message Filter Rule to Detect Message Language:

You can now use the content and message filters to detect the language of the message (subject and body) and take different actions based on the message language.

See the “Content Filters” chapter or the “Using Message Filters to Enforce Email Policies” chapter in the user guide or online help.

http://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/docs/security/esa/esa10-0/ESA_10-0_Release_Notes.pdf

http://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/docs/security/esa/esa10-0/ESA_10-0_User_Guide.pdf

Thanks
Libin Varghese

Dear Libin

Thanks for the reply. I will look in to the document you have send too me.

My IronPort OS Version is 10 and trying to use the content filtering option but this is not working. I think i miss configure the rule or didn't apply the rule properly. But if you guide me what is the correct way to detect and block the language based rule it will be very helpful to me.

Imtiaz