Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco IronPort C170 + Exchange Server 2013

lyndonlou
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

By the way I'm newly hired as a Systems Engineer in the company  that I'm currently working. I was assigned to setup and configure Cisco IronPort together with Exchange Server 2013 for our clients purchasing Cisco IronPort ESA C160/C170. I'm new to Cisco Email Security Appliances and I have a basic knowledge on Email Servers that is why I'm having a trouble to setup the client's requirements. 

Currently, I already created Exchange Server 2013 in our lab environment for testing purposes. I've also changed Cisco IronPort C170 Management IP Address. The Exchange Server 2013 is working fine internally and I can also access the Cisco IronPort C170 in GUI.

How am I going to setup Cisco IronPort C170 with Exchange Server 2013? What are the requirements needed to setup?

As I understand while I'm reading some data sheets, at least the basic practice in setting up ironport would really help me like:

1. Setup the ironport to send emails.

2. Setup the ironport to receive emails.

I would really appreciate it if you kindly give some answers to my questions.

Thank You

11 Replies 11

You can start with the Cisco Validated Design Guide for ESA:

http://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/docs/solutions/CVD/Aug2014/CVD-EmailSecurityUsingCiscoESADesignGuide-AUG14.pdf

It's a step-by-step guide to get your ESA working.

thank you Karsten Iwen the pdf file helped me configuring the basics of cisco ESA.

Hey Lyndon,

Karsten's provided documentation will assist you for the deployment.

If you have fine tuning enquiries, do not hesitate to post here or better yet open a TAC case if your issue is a bit more complex ;

General information.

> Configure an IP interface that can communicate to the internet on port 80, 443 and 25

> Configured DNS servers or firewall rules to allow Root DNS connection from ESA (UDP/TCP 53)