Views
Helpful
Replies

How can I report on how many undeliverables I pass through

elias.winburne
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to the Ironports.  Hope this question is not to simplistic for you guys.

I am trying to build the case for using LDAP recipient lookups on my Ironport.  Right now, we have our Exchange Servers do the 550 or 5.1.1 smtp reply of  "The e-mail address you entered couldn't be found."  I want to show some imperical data to management related to this.  How can I see\track how many undeliverables pass through the Ironports from my Exchange servers?  I have not seen a built in report on this...

Any thoughts on this one?

Thanks,

Elias

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello Elias,

so you basically want to know how many of the inbound messages passing trough your IronPort are bounced by your Exchange server, because the user does not exists, right? The easiest way would be to use the delivery status in the GUI:

GUI: Monitor->Delivery Status

Don't be confused that the table states "Outgoing Destination Status", it just means the destination domain, so you'd look for your (internal) domain all inbound traffic is forwarded to. The "Hard Bounced" column states the number you are looking for, in theory there could be other reasons why a message was rejected by your exchange server, but that's rather rare. This table can also be geberated by a scheduled report. Only drawaback is that the numbers shown do not represent a certain time frame, they increase and only get reset if the appliance is rebooted, or the counters are reset via CLI.

Another place to look for rejected messages from you Exchange server are in the "Bounce Log", i.e you could download those logs and run a script that counts and filters all entries including your domain.

Hope that helps,

Andreas

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Greetings Elias,