cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IP phones are getting wrong IP addresses - Packet Tracer

homeb01
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm new at Packet Tracer. I'm supposed to create a scenario with six IP phones. I've configured a VoIP server on a router that also provides DHCP service just for the phones. However, the phones that are connected to a PC are getting IP addresses from the pool of VLAN 2 (which is the VLAN for data) instead of VLAN 1 (which is the VLAN for voice). The interfaces on switches are configured for both Data and Voice but the server is still assigning the wrong IPs and the phones are not getting their line numbers. I also have to mention that IP phones that are not connected to PCs do get the right IP addresses (Phone0 at Multilayer Switch, for example). I attach the .pkt file (avaliable for PT 8.1.1) and a picture of the topology. If you need more information about the scenario please let me know.

imagen_2022-05-24_215047049.png

2 Replies 2

Martin L
VIP
VIP

this could be issue with PT and DHCP.  not sure if u can use router as dhcp and server at the same time.

then, in real gear, voice vlan in switchport command has more options; 4, I think. PT does not have that.

You could use dhcp pool on server for voice traffic.

Also,  I would not use vlan 1, try different vlan id.  that vlan is security risk and should be avoided all times.

you can find some samples that come with PT for voice and dhcp. check them out to see how dhcp is set up to be used by phones.

Regards, ML
**Please Rate All Helpful Responses **