Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco ISE authentication failed because client reject certificate

ratnapurnama
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Experts,

I am a newbie in ISE and having problem in my first step in authentication. Please help.

I am trying to deploy a standalone Cisco ISE 1.1.2 with WLC using 802.1x authentication. The user authentication configured to be checked to ISE's internal user database for early deployment. But when the user try to authenticate, they failed with error message in ISE :

Authentication failed : 12321 PEAP failed SSL/TLS handshake because the client rejected the ISE local-certificate

I've generate a certificate for ISE using Windows Server CA and replace ISE's self-signed certificate with the new certificate but authentication still failed with the same error message. Must I generate a certificate for WLC also? Please help me in solving this problem.

Regards,

Ratna

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Tarik Admani
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

The error you are seeing in ISE is pointing to your client, if you have the eap settings set to "validate server certificate" then you must manually set it to trust the rootCA that signed the ISE certificate, or you can disable this option for testing. You can try to remove this wireless network profile, and recreate it and see if the pop up appears which asks you to validate the server's identity.

Thanks,

Tarik Admani
*Please rate helpful posts*

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

Tarik Admani
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

The error you are seeing in ISE is pointing to your client, if you have the eap settings set to "validate server certificate" then you must manually set it to trust the rootCA that signed the ISE certificate, or you can disable this option for testing. You can try to remove this wireless network profile, and recreate it and see if the pop up appears which asks you to validate the server's identity.

Thanks,

Tarik Admani
*Please rate helpful posts*