Views
Helpful
Replies

ISE Certificate Local and Certificate Store Certificates

sqambera
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am fairly new to ISE and was reading the document in the link below to create understanding of "Local Certificates" and "Certificate Store Certificates". It seems that certificate in former is used to identify ISE on clients and later is used to identify clients on ISE.

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/ise/1-2/installation_guide/ise_ig/ise_app_e_man_cert.html#49868

Now, which part of the configuration in ISE tells it to check certificate presented by client into its Certificate Store? I am somehow mixing it up with "Certificate Authentication Profile" that is being used in Identity Source Sequence. But I guess Certificate Authentication Profile is used to verify certificates from an external identity source like AD or LDAP. So where do we bring into consideration "certificate store certificates" in our ISE configuration.

Thanks in advance for helping me out.

Regards,

Qamber 

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

nspasov
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Qamber-

The Server Certificate (ISE) can be used for for:

1. HTTP/HTTPs - This is for the ISE web server that is used to host various portals (Guest, Sponsor, BYOYD, My Devices, etc). This certificate is usually issued by a public certificate authority such as GoDaddy or VeriSign. A public CA is not required but clients outside your environemnt that do not trust the CA that issued the certificate will get an HTTPs error warning the users that the certificate could not be verified. 

2. EAP - This is for EAP based authentications (EAP-TLS, EAP-PEAP, EAP-PEAP-TLS, etc). This certificate is usually issued by an internal Certificate Authority. The same certificate authority usually issues user and/or machine based certificates that can be used for EAP-TLS type authentications.