Views
Helpful
Replies

ISE policy for only IP phone access

Tsoi07383
Level 1
Level 1

Hi add,

I am a beginner to ISE. I would like to only allow IP phone (Voice Vlan only)to access to Switch, no devices (Data vlan) behind the IP phone.

1. I tried to use host-mode single host, but the IP phone cannot functional.

2. I tried to use host-mode multi-domain, the IP phone works but I cannot limit the devices which is behind the IP phone (Data Vlan).

What policy I can use to limit the data vlan.

Thanks a lot.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

thomas
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Your options:

1) 802.1X authentication :

Authenticate your phones using 802.1X with username/password or certificates and deny the rest. This is absolutely possible but most people never do this because of administrative politics or effort. I assume you will not do this, either. If you do, see the ISE Authentication and Authorization Policy Reference for examples.

2) static endpoint group:

1. Create an IP phone group @ Administration > Identity Management > Groups > Endpoint Identity Groups
  2. Import all of your known IP Phones' MAC addresses to this group via CSV file under Context Visibility > Endpoints > Import. You will want to download the template or export all existing devices first and update the IdentityGroup field to MyIPPhones or whatever your group name you created. Change StaticGroupAssignment to TRUE.
  3. Create the policy to allow MAC addresses in this group:
    Status Rule Name Conditions Profiles Security Groups Hits Actions
    MyPhones IdentityGroup-Name EQUALS Endpoint Identity Groups:MyIPPhones Cisco_IP_Phones Select from list 0

3) dynamic endpoint profiling:

Use ISE endpoint profiling to dynamically detect an IP phone (or not) and authorize access (or not). This is a default policy in ISE and should just work unless you have other policies that match first or do not have ISE Plus (2.x) or Advantage (3.x) licenses.