Views
Helpful
Replies

Replacing ISE instance on DNAC

Gaurav Sharma
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Experts!

Is there a migration path for replacing an ISE instance from DNAC ?

We would like to replace our 2.3 instance with 2.4
The issue is you cannot just remove the ISE server.

DNA will not let you because it is used in the fabric

The only way I can see changing it at this point is to completely remove the fabric, the design, etc, and start over
If there is a migration path on steps that need to be taken in order to replace the ISE instance, Can you please share with me ?
-Gaurav Sharma

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Mike.Cifelli
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
Why is the desire to "replace" the ISE instance? Why not perform an upgrade bundle to get from 2.3->2.4. I have been running an SDA fabric in production for about 14 months and have performed several DNAC & ISE upgrades. Our DNAC cluster has gone from 1.1.x->1.2.x->1.3.1.3. The ISE cluster has moved from 2.3.x->2.4p9 without rebuild issues, etc. Note to pay attention to the compatibility matrix for the two components when performing upgrades.

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

hslai
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

I believe you are correct about this current limitation. I would suggest you to discuss it with DNA-C PM teams for roadmaps.

What is with the approache of the backup and restore scenario which is anyway the recommended way to upgrade a ISE deployment?

I mean it shout be possible to replace the ISE in a Fabric because of a hardware vm failture or whatever.

Thanks

Matthias

Hi @Matthias 

It's been a while since you asked this question - did you receive any answers?

I am in the situation now where I have an ISE 2.4 integrated with DNAC 1.3 and I need to switch over to another ISE server (ISE 2.7).

It was a painful exercise to get these two things talking to each other.  How did you proceed in the end?

regards

Arne

Hi Arne,

Im still in contact with Tac/BU about that.