cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN Certificate Authentication Through ISE iPEP

AJ Cruz
Level 3
Level 3

Is it possible to do certificate/machine authentication for VPN users (ipads, smartphones) with ISE/iPEP?

If I set the ASA to do RADIUS authentication (pointed to the ipep) the user gets a username/password box from AnyConnect. I don't see a way to trigger the AnyConnect client to send a certificate.

7 Replies 7

nspasov
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

I don't believe so. At the moment there isn't a EAP type VPN that is supported in ISE. The only EAP based VPN is EAP-AnyConnect which is dependent on IKEv2 and not supported by ISE/ACS.

I am by no means a VPN expert so anybody out there feel free to chime in

Thank you for rating!

marioderosa2008
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am having the same issue too.

I have read the BYOD Cisco Validated design document and it documents a setup where you use the ASA for certificate authentication and then the ISE for authorization...

Only thing is that it does not use an inline posture ISE... instead you have to use the ASA & AnyConnect client to perform all posturing.

Also, in my case, I am using the ISE with the NAC agent for wireless and it is not clear whether it is possible to have the new AnyConnect client and the Cisco NAC agent on the same machine. Or whether the AnyConnect client completely replaces the NAC agent and handles all the wireless stuff as well as VPN...

If anyone can clarify that would be great.

thanks

Mario

I got it working doing certificate authentication on the ASA plus RADIUS which points to the iPEP which points to ISE which points to Active Directory. Works beautifully.

You can have the NAC Agent & AnyConnect on the same machine, that's what we're doing. Word on the street is by the end of this calendar year the NAC agent will be rolled into AnyConnect.

Thanks very much for your input...

Can I ask...