Views
Helpful
Replies

ACL practices when modifying and applying new policies

Jason Jackal
Level 1
Level 1

Folks:

I am studying for my CCNA , and I am confused at how to manage ACL lists that are already applied to an interface.

For example: I have an ACL already applied to S0; however, I need to modify it. Cisco recommends that you disable the list first with the no ip access-group command; however, from my understanding, if I remove the list – traffic will be unfiltered. How do I modify an applied ACL and still filter traffic? Do I create another ACL to black all traffic until I modify my selected ACL?

Thank you

3 Replies 3

Phillip Wilson
Level 1
Level 1

If you don't want to remove the old one and keep it in place a good way to do this is copy the current ACL to notepad and add your additions or remove what you want and apply it as a different ACL#. Then get on the interface and apply the new ACL to it and removing the old one.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

Phillip's suggestion is one good way. Another is to use extended access-lsits and modify by specifiying the sequence number. See the examples here.

Bilal Nawaz
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

If you want to change an access-list that is already applied to an interface, you need to consider where to place your additions.

You can do this:
internetrouter#show access-lists
Standard IP access list 2
10 permit 172.16.1.1
20 permit 172.16.1.2
30 deny 172.16.1.0, wildcard bits 0.0.0.255

In this ACL I have permitted 172.16.1.1 and .2
However the last entry (line 30) I have denied the rest of the network. What if I wanted to add .3 and allow that??

Well if we add .3 to the bottom of the ACL then .3 would be denied by line 30.
I.e. if you do

Conf t
Ip access-list standard 2
Permit 172.16.1.3

Your ACL would look like this:

10 permit 172.16.1.1
20 permit 172.16.1.2
40 permit 172.16.1.3