cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Basic newbie question (dividing network)

Linchpin
Level 1
Level 1

Good morning all,

First off, I hope I am posting this in the correct section, I apologise if I have posted it in the wrong section.

So I'm looking to get into networking currently, though I'm on a course for Cyber Security, which covers CCNA 2020.

I've got myself 2 cisco switches at the moment (1 unmanaged SF300-28 and 1 managed SG300-28).

I am currently only using just the managed switch to act as a DHCP server, to which is hooked up to my router, as recommended by others on the net.

With that said, I've disabled DHCP on my router.

I am just learning how to divide a network into 2 separate networks under a /25 mask of course, I've set up all the details for DHCP up correctly (or at least as far as I am aware), and even set up the DNS to use Googles DNS, but when trying to access the net, it doesn't seem to work, I might add that I am doing this all through the web browser for setting things up, I should familiarize myself with the commands as it was covered in the course I am on, but can anyone give me advise on this as to why I cannot access the internet, is there some firewall behind Cisco that might be blocking the connection?

To reiterate on the part on DHCP part, bare in mind that I have the hardware setup as following Modem > Router > Switch I've set up the array so 10.16.0.128 is the default gateway (or was it 129) with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.128 and DNS servers at 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

My laptop and PC pick up the DHCP settings no problem, just no internet access.

If there is a guide or list of recommended commands to learn, then it'd be appreciated, thanks!

This switch is running on a L3 mode with factory settings.

10 Replies 10

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You're doing NAT/PAT too?  (You understand you cannot use 10.x.x.x addresses, directly, with the Internet?)