Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco AIR-WLC4404-100-K9 I can't console in

marksoft1
Level 1
Level 1

HI guys!

I've been working with Cisco equipment for a few months now so not even close to an expert, I am a rookie.

Here is the problem, I bought a AIR-WLC4404-100-K9 on ebay and I can't console in, let me describe just in case I'm messing it up some how the way I try to do so. I connect the blue Cisco cable from the RJ45 from the back of my computer straight to the console port in the front of the WLC.

I make sure that the PC (Win 7 I also tried Win 10) is in the same subnet as the WLC, I've read that by default is on 192.168.1.1 then I turn on the WLCand everything seems to "be working", the status LED stays solid green for 54 seconds and then starts blinking for anther 22 more seconds at the 1 minute 16 seconds mark the Status LED turns off and that's it.

I'm using Putty to console in and I can't see anything going on.

Same deal if I try to (as I watched a youtube video) use GUI, connecting a RJ45 from the back of my PC straight to the service port and try to access it using Internet Explorer using http://192.168.1.1 , the connection times up and nothing happens.

What am I doing wrong? 

Just in case that it could help somehow... If I connect the RJ45 from the service port directly into my router, the router is able to assign an IP address to the WLC. Does it matter? It means something?

I can see inside of the router IP address table the IP given to the WLC.

Any help would be appreciated.

I have 1 week to try anything otherwise I'll return it, hopefully it won't happen that way.

Thank you guys, looking forward to hear from you.

9 Replies 9

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

I connect the blue Cisco cable from the RJ45 from the back of my computer straight to the console port in the front of the WLC.

No you didn't.  You must've plugged the console cable into the 4400's SERVICE port.