Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Prime Infracstructure (v2.2.2) retreiving IOS image name from API

choywy
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I was trying to run a report (using Python script) to pull out the IOS image name (or feature set like ipbase or ipservices IOS) of c3750 switches from the PI API... But I can't find where is the API that store this field?

Can some kind soul highlight to me where can I find this in PI API?

Thanks in advance...

5 Replies 5

smp
Level 4
Level 4

Hi there, fellow API user. I am just beginning to learn how to use the API (and Python) myself. I took a quick glance at the API guide, and it looks to me like might be able to get it from "GET Inventory Details". I whipped up a quick script and I was able to get the software version from our WLCs, but I don't have any IOS-based devices in our Inventory so I am unable to confirm definitively.

BTW, I found a more targeted forum resource for API questions in the Developer community. It's not very active, but I got a quick, knowledgeable answer from someone at Cisco to a couple of questions I posted a few days ago. In the Developer community it's in the Networking > Cloud and Systems Management > Prime Infrastructure sub-space.

Hi Scott,

Thanks for the quick response...I did try "Inventory Details" but that only give the IOS version (like 12.2(58)SE2) but it didn't tell you is it an IPBASE or IPSERVICES IOS? I need to capture that in my script..

I will try the Dev Com forum....But hopefully someone from this support forum can answer that...

Oooh sorry, I missed that detail in your post. And unfortunately I'm not experienced enough to assist.

Again, sorry, and good luck!

Hi Scott,

I found some fields in the Prime API that capture this IOS feature set informaiton...

It is in the Credential API....But the user must be a "NBI Credential" in order to run this request.

Once you run the API, there is various field "IOSFeatureSet"; "softwareVersionMajor"; "softwareVersionTrain"....