Views
Helpful
Replies

confusion between TCP segment and IP datagram

bhul0030
Level 1
Level 1

hi there ,

I am still learning the fundamentals of TCP/IP but I am confused a bit about the context about the 4 layers of TCP . So my understanding is that Transport layer does transport of application data and network (IP protocol) does delivery of datagram but i wanted to knew is that when a router received a packet and it decapsulates layer 3 (that contains tcp payload) does the router check layer 4 as well in case of congestion control and also acknowledging data packets .

Next thing i want to ask is when it is stated that ip datagram computed checksum is not correct or it is dropped does it means that router accepts upto layer 2 and then drops rest as the crc or checksum is incorrect and also can someone elaborate the difference between dropping layer 4 segment and layer 3 datagram .Isnt it the same thing as layer 4 payload is encapsulated in layer 3 if  layer 3 is dropped then layer 4 wont matter ?

4 Replies 4

Hello,

as I understand it, all checksum (CRC) and congestion control is done at layer 3, nothing at layer 4. On top of that, protocols such as PPP and Ethernet do an additional, more advanced and more reliable, CRC check at layer 2 as well (as the 'traditional' CRC check used by TCP is considered 'weak' by today's standards).

So, IF anything is dropped (due to congestion or CRC) it happens at layer 2 or 3, never at layer 4.

From my understanding and the tcp/ip fundamentals book that I am reading it states that congestion control and flow control is done by transport layer not ip layer . So that is why I am confused as to if Routers are L3 device then why routers are checking with the source and confirming to them about controlling flow rate of bits (congestion control).