cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Need help modifying TCL script with a loop.

Cisco Ham
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm new to TCL/EEM, with some help from my friend Google I was able to create a small script that resides on the flash of a switch and it looks like this :

::cisco::eem::event_register_timer cron name ipsla_to_syslog.tcl  cron_entry "59 23 * * *"
namespace import ::cisco::eem::*
namespace import ::cisco::lib::*
array set arr_einfo [event_reqinfo]
# Open the CLI
if [catch {cli_open} result] {
   error $result $errorInfo
} else {
    array set cli1 $result
}

# Go into enable mode
if [catch {cli_exec $cli1(fd) "en"} result] {
    error $result $errorInfo
}

if [catch {cli_exec $cli1(fd) "sh ip sla enhanced-history distribution-statistics" } command ] {
        error $command $errorInfo
}
action_syslog priority info msg "$command"

I have registered it on the switch as follows :

event manager directory user policy "bootflash:/"
    event manager policy ipsla_to_syslog.tcl type user

One minute before midnight it will run and write all statistic information of the IP SLA instances to the syslog server, the problem is that this is a lot of information because of a lot of IP SLA instances and it seems that most of the time we miss a lot of lines.

So what I would like to do is limit this to a certain number of IP SLA instances that are specified in the script and then run a loop.

I mean something like : set ip_sla_instance  { 103 205 302} and then a loop that would run the following commands

sh ip sla enhanced-history distribution-statistics 103

sh ip sla enhanced-history distribution-statistics 205

sh ip sla enhanced-history distribution-statistics 302

Hopefully it is clear what I would like to have, English is not my native language.