cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Router can not SCP after IP and Name Change but can SSH

jason.menningen
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all this is my first time asking a question on here, but I have used other answered questions enough to trust in the comments from here.

Issue Breakdown: We changed a Routers IPs, lo0/Gi0/0, and Hostname via a modified startup config so the new configurations would take affect after a reboot.  My original worry in this experiment was that SSH would stop working as SSH keys use the systems Hostname in the generation of the RSA keys.  Thankfully when the router came back up with the new hostname and IPs SSH still functioned normally, unfortunately SCP did not.  My initial thought was the router had saved a known hosts file for the SCP servers, but after much looking through other Cisco documents and online forums I can not find any mention of that being the cause.  

Interested Devices:

Cisco CISCO3945-CHASSIS with a C3900-SPE150/K9 running IOS Version 15.7(3)M8

Solarwinds SFTP/SCP server on a windows 2016 server

Interested Configs: #sho run all | i ssh
ip ssh time-out 60
ip ssh authentication-retries 2
ip ssh window-size 8192
ip ssh source-interface Loopback0
ip ssh break-string ~break
ip ssh version 2
ip ssh dh min size 2048
no ip ssh rekey time
no ip ssh rekey volume
ip ssh server authenticate user publickey
ip ssh server authenticate user keyboard
ip ssh server authenticate user password
no ip ssh server peruser session limit
ip ssh server certificate profile
ip ssh server algorithm mac hmac-sha1
ip ssh server algorithm encryption aes256-ctr
ip ssh server algorithm kex diffie-hellman-group-exchange-sha1 diffie-hellman-group14-sha1
ip ssh server algorithm hostkey x509v3-ssh-rsa ssh-rsa
ip ssh server algorithm authentication publickey keyboard password
ip ssh server algorithm publickey x509v3-ssh-rsa ssh-rsa
ip ssh client algorithm mac hmac-sha2-256 hmac-sha2-512 hmac-sha1 hmac-sha1-96
ip ssh client algorithm encryption aes256-ctr