Views
Helpful
Replies

2 public IP ranges on 2 outside interfaces

Chris_Dickie
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Bare with me as I am not very technical and all very new to this, how I have got this far I will never know.

But basically I have a cisco ASA5510 we had 1 public IP range on an outside interface but eventually I have now used all these IPs up so we got given another IP range block.

These 2 ranges are being supplied by the same cable. To assign this range I have turned the management interface into another outside interface and assigned the new IP range. I then added an unmanaged switch in front of the ASA to split the line up to split into the 2 outside interfaces.

My existing outside interface works fine, but with my second new outside interface I cannot get any traffic to be going to it. I am not sure if it might be the default static route or anything.

Can anyone thing of an obvious thing I could have forgotten, I know I haven't explained that much but hopefully someone might be able to say that's not possible or remember to do this.

Thanks,

Chris

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

With that software you shouldnt have any problems that have been common with the newer software levels.

Basically you should be able to configure NAT both using your old and new public IPs.

To be honest the only thing different with the NAT configurations should be the public IP address used. I assume that you have used up the previous public IP addresses by configuring Static NAT for some of your servers? If you are attempting to do the same with the new public IP addresses there shouldnt really be anything different but the actual public IP address used for the NAT configuration.

I dont know if the people at ISP have understood correctly. As you stated you asked them to confirm that they have routed the new public subnet that you were allocated towards the current "outside" interface IP address of the ASA. Shouldnt be hard for the ISP to confirm this