cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5545X & Firepower Issues

philipspe
Level 1
Level 1

This is my first time posting here, so bear with me.

Our company runs ASA5545X with Firepower in each of our 2 data centers. For the last 2 years, we have been having an ongoing issue where they stop passing traffic. In the last couple months, it has gotten really bad and happens sometimes multiple times a week requiring us to manually failover to restore services. We have opened multiples tickets with TAC and they don't ever find anything really that points to an issue. We have been instructed to go through multiple code upgrades but issue continues. Most recently this week we have upgraded the SFR's to 6.6.7 and the ASA is at 9.8.4(44). From what we can tell, it seems to be the SFR's causing the issue but I can't confirm anything. When it happens , I can ping the outside interface from our outside polling solution 24x7. From the ASA and our internet router we can ping out to google. You just can't ping from inside the network out or make it past the firewall from outside. Has anyone experienced this kind of issue? It's affecting both data centers and we have 2 units per data center. 

23 Replies 23

We are running 6.6.7 and continued to suffer issues until we optimized our snort policies. We had multiple intrusion polices and so combined them all into one policy, then applied this single policy to the rules that required it. There have been no further issues since doing this. Geolocation and snot updates are enabled although we don't have the option enabled to deploy to the target devices immediately after an update is downloaded, this is done at the next manual policy deployment.

Hope this helps!

I might have spoken too soon, we upgrade the FMC to 7.0.4 and after the first policy deployment to the SFR modules running 6.6.7 this issues has reoccurred. Case logged with TAC.