Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 9.X Routed + Transparent + Active Acitve + IPS

Hi,

We are currently looking at design models for a Multi-Tenancy solution.

The firewall layer will be 2 X ASA's running 9.X to take advantage of VPN's in multiple context mode and mixed L3 and L2 contexts.

We will be delivering services through multiple L3 contexts (between 2 and 5 L3 contexts for services) and 1 transparent context for customers infrastructure  who will then have virtual firewalls for NAT's and VPN's etc withing their own environment.

I am not very experienced with IPS so my query is; if we were to get an IPS license for both ASA's how would the IPS fit in, can we use it to inspect traffic for all the L3 contexts and the transparent context?

Any advice or doc's around this would be brilliant, thanks in advance

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

In a multi-context X series ASA you use the allocate-ips command. Reference more details here.

One shortcoming is that in an ASA HA setup the two IPSs don't know about each other so you need to synchronize their configurations either manually of via policies using something like the the free IPS Manager Express (IME) tool or, for larger setups, the licensed CSM product.

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

In a multi-context X series ASA you use the allocate-ips command. Reference more details here.

One shortcoming is that in an ASA HA setup the two IPSs don't know about each other so you need to synchronize their configurations either manually of via policies using something like the the free IPS Manager Express (IME) tool or, for larger setups, the licensed CSM product.