Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA RPF check with self-originated traffic

Serpentarius
Level 1
Level 1

Hi colleagues!

I'm not a novice in ASA, but this problem got me baffled. I'll start without too much of a technical detail: I have two ASAs with an IPSEC L2L VPN between them, like this:

LAN1 - inside - ASA1 - outside - (public internet) - outside - ASA2 - inside - LAN2

The crypto map on each ASA has a set reverse-route statement, so that ASA1 has a static route to LAN2 pointing to its inside interface, and ASA2 has a static route to LAN1 pointing to its inside interface. Each ASA also has ip verify reverse-path on each interface. And of course, there's a NAT exempt rule on each ASA for the networks participating in the VPN.

So far, so good. Hosts from LAN1 can reach hosts from LAN2 and vice versa (including the L3 switch in LAN2 acting as a DHCP relay on behalf of the local clients while the DHCP server is the Windows domain controller located in LAN1). I can successfully SSH to the ASA2 inside interface from LAN1 (there's no management access from outside). All that works like charm.

Then I want to send syslog and netflow from ASA2 to an NMS in LAN1. Since there's a static route to LAN1 pointing to the inside interface, that's the destination interface for logging host and flow-export destination commands. Still, the NMS doesn't receive anything from ASA2. I try to ping the NMS from ASA2. Ping fails, and I watch it failing while being connected via SSH from the NMS!

Looks like the time for packet-tracer. I try to reproduce my ping, and here's the phase where it fails:

Phase: 4
Type: ROUTE-LOOKUP
Subtype: input
Result: ALLOW
Config:
Additional Information:
in   10.45.254.1     255.255.255.255 identity

Result:
input-interface: inside
input-status: up
input-line-status: up
output-interface: outside
output-status: up
output-line-status: up
Action: drop
Drop-reason: (rpf-violated) Reverse-path verify failed