cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Azure FTDv first time login problem

sphbecker1
Level 1
Level 1

I am pretty new to FTD so they may be a dumb question. I want to setup a FTDv in Azure. I don't have an FMC so I chose the market option to not register with an FMC. The VM deployed as expected, but I have no idea what my next step is.

The management interface allows SSH login, but it takes me to a linux $ prompt and it isn't clear what to do next. Typing ifconfig shows the 4 Ethernet interfaces have the expected IP addresses. None of the interfaces allow a HTTPS connection.

I have several physical FTD devices and they have a built-in GUI interface when not connected to an FMC. I was under the impression the FTDv would as well. Is there something I am missing, or does the FTDv only work with an FMC?

9 Replies 9

Tyson Joachims
Spotlight
Spotlight

when you powered on the VM, were you given a long EULA followed by several questions including what IP address, subnet mask, etc to setup the device? If not, try typing "connect ftd" and see if that gets you there. If you did, then open a web browser and go to the IP address that you configured during the initial setup. Remember to add "https://" to the front of it.

As I said before, I already know all of the IP addresses, but none of them have https:// open.

I tried typing the command you mentioned and it does not work (again, I am at a Cisco Fire Linux OS prompt)

Cisco Fire Linux OS v6.7.0 (build 62)
Cisco Firepower Threat Defense for Azure v6.7.0 (build 65)

scuciscoftdv:~$ connect ftd
-sh: connect: command not found

Tyson Joachims
Spotlight
Spotlight

what happens when you type "exit"? I would expect the following:

scuciscoftdv:~$ exit
>

If you do get the greater than symbol, try the following command and see if you get the same output

> show managers
Managed locally.

Let me know what you find. Thanks

Typing exit closes the session, I can reconnect and log back in, but I get the same linux prompt.